Valentine’s Day

Ah, Valentine’s Day, the day that one of my co-workers calls “Singles Awareness Day”. Yes, she’s single. That surprises me, actually. She’s smart, she’s funny… kind of like my daughter… who’s also single. However, I digress.

I’m not a huge holiday celebrator; never have been, never will be. I do like having an excuse to make things, though. Especially when those “things” are sweet, yummy, and, let’s face it, pretty. Macarons fit the bill perfectly.

dscn0559

(Yeah, I know, I’m on a macaron kick. No one around here is complaining… except John; he’s convinced I’m trying to kill him, with sugar as my weapon of choice. Now that I’ve got it down, though, I’m having fun! And that’s all that matters, doesn’t it?)

I wanted to make some heart shaped macarons flavoured with raspberries. I went hunting, by foot and by phone, for freeze dried raspberries in this town. I couldn’t find any. I’ve ordered some on Amazon but they won’t arrive until the end of next week. I did, however, find freeze dried pomegranates. They also have that nice, tangy, fruity flavour I was looking for.

When I found a recipe for red, white, and blue (raspberry, banana, and blueberry) macarons, using the Italian method, I printed it up and compared it to other macaron recipes.

Ok, this is where I digress again.

Remember in my last post, I wrote about the formula for macarons? Well, in my searching, I’ve realized that there are about four main formulas (or is that formulae?). There’s the Syrup & Tang formula that I used to make the Coffee Kahlua macarons last weekend. There are three others: Annie’s Eats, Mercotte, and Not So Humble Pie. They’re all similar but all vary slightly in the percentages but not by much. In my spreadsheet, I’ve taken all four ratios and averaged them out. The averages are: 1 (being the egg whites); 1.33 almond flour; 1.33 icing sugar; 1.53 white sugar; .35 water.

The recipe I used for the Pomegranate macarons is the exact ratio of the Annie’s Eats formula (1; 1.23; 1.23; 1.37; 33). Incidentally, the only measurement that is consistent across the board is the water at 33%.

For the macarons, I ground up the freeze dried pomegranates and ran them through the sifter with the icing sugar and almonds; I also added a little red gel colour to get the pink I was looking for. I also made a pomegranate curd and made a small batch of French buttercream, using more ground pomegranates as colour and flavour.

dscn0552

The batter was piped on to parchment paper using a heart template. Everything went well but…. I still have hollows. (insert frown here)

dscn0554

Ah well, I’m not going to make them over just because I have hollows. After drizzling half the hearts with white chocolate ganache and filling with a dollop of curd and buttecream, I think they look perfect for Valentine’s Day.

dscn0555

Now, what will we have for dinner?

2 responses

  1. Those look lovely! I bet they taste even better. All your combinations of flavours that you have tried sound delicious. You are inspiring Ev, however I don’t think I’d come close to having your patience. I’ll keep your notes handy though for the day I try my hand at it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

