Macs and Ovens

My oven is giving me grief. I set it 75º lower than the temperature I want and it’s 25º higher than I want! How on earth am I supposed to have any success making macarons with an oven that’s even more finicky than the macarons I’m trying to bake??

Oven aside, I decided to give macarons another try this weekend. This time, I’m making Pistachio Macarons with Pistachio Cream Filling, another recipe I found through Pinterest. For the first time since starting on this adventure, I’m not using the basic recipe I’ve been using so far. This time, I’m following the recipe for the Pistachio Macarons exactly as written. As of right now, as I’m writing, they’ve been in the oven for a few minutes (5 or so) and already have feet! I mentioned in my last post that I was going to follow the advice of numerous bloggers and place another baking sheet on the lower rack of my oven because, in addition to not being able to control the heat, this oven also bakes unevenly.

dscn0498

Two sheets, ready to bake… for a total of 26 completed macarons

dscn0499

You can see that they’ve dried somewhat and are ready for baking.

dscn0500

Feet… we have feet! (I tried to adjust the colour… unsuccessfully. In reality, they’re a lovely pale shade of green.

All that’s left to do now is to make the Pistachio Cream filling. Silly me, I thought about taking butter out of the freezer last night but totally forgot by the time bedtime came around. I now have to wait for the butter to soften enough that I can cut off what I need. They may not be filled until later today (I don’t think that’s an issue). Early this afternoon, we’ll be going to my daughter’s to help supervise my grandson’s eighth birthday party. The filling likely won’t be made until after we’re back… possibly even tomorrow.

… and a couple of hours later, the Pistachio Macarons are cooling their heels in the fridge.

dscn0502

I decided to roll them in crushed pistachios for that little extra pop of pistachio flavour (colour’s still off).

I did make the filling; I found a way of hurrying the butter along. That is a seriously delicious filling! It isn’t overly sweet, which makes me happy. I’m really not excited about tooth achingly sweet things.

From what I’ve seen so far (haven’t tasted a completed macaron yet), they look amazing but I think I have a bit of hollowness again. As John said, though, considering the oven I’m working with, they are what they are. With a better oven, I know I’d have better results. Incidentally, placing the extra baking sheet on the bottom rack of the oven did seem to make a difference. The feet throughout the entire batch are pretty much the same, a first.

Will I make these again? Oh yeah! Having tasted each of the components, I can’t wait to try the whole.

pistachio

3 responses

    • No, it’s an old (not sure how old) apartment sized GE. I think the door seal is no longer sealing properly, for one thing. It’s also wayyyyy too hot. We’re renting, though, so I don’t have much choice, other than to use what we have. Ah well, they’re still turning out ok.

Leave a Reply

