Change in Direction

Ok, I think I like this layout and look. Now, for the content. Up until now, I’ve posted some of our favourite recipes. I’ve found, however, that I don’t really think about the food blog much even though I’m in the kitchen every weekend, experimenting, baking, and cooking. This blog could be a whole lot more than it is right now.

To that end, I’m going to change direction somewhat. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll still post about other recipes but now that we know that my daughter is gluten intolerant (you don’t even want to know what happens when she eats gluten based foods… it isn’t pretty), I’ve been doing some experimentation. What better place to document those experiments? If you read my main blog, you already know that I’ve been doing some of that already, and documenting there. I’d like to do more.

First, I do want to specify that only my daughter is gluten intolerant. Thus far, neither of her children has exhibited any symptoms and none of us besides her has any known food allergies apart from some nut sensitivity (Kristen and me).

This weekend, it’s my intention to jump into the deep end and try baking gluten free French bread. I will be posting a link to the recipe I’m using but will not post the actual recipe; I don’t want to infringe on anyone’s copyright in that way. I will be making notes and taking pictures along the way and will let you know the reactions I get.

I’ll tell you right now, my biggest critic will be my husband. As soon as he hears the words “gluten free”, I can see the wall going up. In his mind, if it’s gluten free, it’s immediately not as good as the “real” thing.

Care to watch me try to change his mind?

gf-desserts

GF Dutch Apple Pie and GF Lemon Meringue Pie

2 responses

  1. Hi Ev, So good to hear from you again. I recently had double knee replacement surgery so I’ll have more time to enjoy all those gluten free recipes you will be posting. Seems we all know someone who suffers that fate. Hope all is well otherwise. Peace, Carol

    • Hi Carol!! I’m still around but haven’t been blogging here as much. Best of luck with the knee replacements! I hope all goes even better than you anticipate.

Leave a Reply

