Veggie Rich Meat Loaf

I have to tell you… I’m not a big fan of meat loaf. I can’t understand the whole drown it with ketchup or barbecue sauce and bake it thing. Ketchup is fine as a condiment but not on my meat loaf, thank you very much.

Years ago, I came across a meat loaf recipe that doesn’t smother the poor thing in ketchup. I’m not sure where I found the recipe; it was certainly long before I was using the internet and Pinterest to find recipe inspiration. I don’t make it often but every time I do, I wonder why I don’t make it more often.

In addition to the ground meat, it’s loaded with vegetables. There’s almost as much of the vegetable mix as there is of the meat. The finished meat loaf is moist and tasty and doesn’t need ketchup. The original recipe calls for two pounds of ground beef; my local grocery store and main meat supplier has packages of ground meat that has beef, veal, and pork; the packages average about 1.5 lbs. I went with that.

Meat mix

As for the vegetables, I used my food processor for the mushrooms, onions, and carrots; I’ve shredded my finger nails too often and the processor makes nice little pieces that sauté up nicely. The only thing I did slice and dice was the celery.

veg mix

I’ll be serving it with Grandma’s Scalloped Potatoes and some veg (probably carrots and peas) on the side.

Oven ready


 

Veggie Rich Meat Loaf

[printable version]

  • 2 tbsp. butter
  • 1/2 lb. mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 cup diced onions
  • 1 cup celery, sliced thinly
  • 1 cup carrots, shredded
  • 2 tbsp. water
  • 1.5 – 2 lbs ground meat
  • 1/2  cup flour
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. seasoned salt
  • 1 tsp. fines herbes
  • 2 tbsp. soy sauce

In a large skillet, melt the butter and heat the vegetables and water to boiling. Cover and simmer for 10 minutes or until vegetables are tender but still crisp. Allow to cool.

Once the vegetables have cooled, combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Mix lightly until well blended. Shape into a loaf approximately 8″ x 6″ on a greased jelly roll pan or in a loaf pan.

Bake at 350ºF for 1 hour or until cooked through and browned.

Leave a Reply

