Captain Ben’s Crispy Cod

For as long as John and I have been together, whenever there’s talk of fish and chips, one specific recipe comes out. Sure, we could go to C-Lovers, our local fish and chip joint which is pretty good but, really, John’s fish and chip recipe is so much better! He’s had this recipe for a long time, probably some time in the 70’s, a newspaper clipping from the Vancouver Sun, given to him by his aunt.

Captain Ben20000As you can see, the original recipe calls for a dash of monosodium glutamate (MSG, aka Accent); I do  not keep that poison in my home; it is definitely a migraine trigger for me.

Cod2

Now, if I were to tell you that this fish doesn’t get soggy, you probably wouldn’t believe me. It’s true, though. We’ve made this many times; I’ve taken leftovers (if I’m lucky enough that there are any) to work with me the next day and they’re STILL crispy. Seriously!

Cod3

And there’s one ingredient that isn’t in this recipe… beer. This ain’t no beer-battered fish. Trust me… try it.

When John makes it, he doesn’t usually marinate the fish as the recipe directs. I made it today and followed the recipe exactly. Either way is good but I must say, I really enjoyed it marinated. Oh, I used the leftover batter to make onion rings.

Cod1

 

====================

Captain Ben’s Crispy Cod

[printable version]

Fish:

  • 1 lb. fresh cod
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper

Batter:

  • 2/3 cup corn starch
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon vinegar
  • water (I used about 1 cup)
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder

Cut the cod into chunks about 1″ x 2″ (bite sized pieces), and put into a bowl. Sprinkle remaining ingredients over; stir to mix well. Marinate for a minimum of 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

For the batter, combine corn starch, flour, and vinegar but NOT the baking powder. Add enough water to make a medium thick pancake batter. Heat oil to 375ºF. Once the oil has reached the correct temperature, add the baking powder to the batter, stirring well. Dip fish chunks in the batter. Fry until golden brown, 3-4 minutes.

Remove to paper towel-lined baking sheet; hold in a warm oven until all the fish is cooked.

One response

  1. Pingback: If You’re Having Fish & Chips… | In Ev's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

