Toasted Coconut Panna Cotta with Hibiscus and Pomegranate

 

 

It’s been a long time, hasn’t it? I’ve not stopped cooking and baking; there just hasn’t been time, energy or motivation to write. Sometimes life gets that way.

However, a recipe came across my desk this week that I just had to make and, after making it, decided it was too good not to share. I subscribe to Serious Eats and this is one of their recipes. I won’t reprint it here but I will link to it.

Make this… you will not be disappointed!

002(clicking the picture will take you to the recipe)

I did make a couple of small changes to my version. First, I couldn’t find any pomegranates in either of the two markets I went to so I substituted a handful of raspberries from the freezer. Second, I cut back on the sugar in the hibiscus/raspberry gelee because 1 1/4 cups of sugar to one cup of hibiscus tea is overkill. I used 3/4 cup and it’s just right.

I also added a little toasted coconut just before the gelee set completely. I think it complements it quite nicely. All in all, this is a pretty dessert and a very tasty one. It was a little time-consuming but certainly not difficult.

We will definitely be having this again!

 

Leave a Reply

