Six Week Bran Muffins

Continuing in the trial of the recipes on the recipe cards I wrote out many years ago, I decided to try the Six Week Bran Muffins. The idea behind this recipe is that you make a huge batch of batter and store it in the refrigerator for up to six weeks. Whenever you want fresh bran muffins, you simply scoop up the amount you want and bake up a few.

Now, I’ve been cooking and baking for a very long time. My mother, as I’ve written before, had me baking by the age of seven. I’ve been baking ever since. But because I’ve been baking for such a long time, you can imagine that some of my bakeware might be a little on the old side. You’d be correct. Recently, I decided to update some of my baking tins… cake tins, cookie sheets, etc. This morning, I splurged on some silicon muffin cups, with the intention of trying them with these bran muffins.

6week bran muffins3

I dislike the thought of having to use a 12 cup muffin tin just to make 4 or 6 muffins. This way, I can make up just a few muffins, put the cups in a cake pan and bake up only as many as I want. After all, it’s just John and me and if I bake up a batch of 12 muffins, they end up in the freezer, usually forgotten, or they get stale and thrown out. Besides, I much prefer fresh muffins to frozen!

After having baked up a small batch of muffins, six of them, I’ve decided I like the silicon muffin cups. And as far as the muffins go, John’s verdict? Mm, nice! Yup, this recipe’s a keeper, too. He liked the size of the muffins as well (I bought two sizes of silicon muffin cups, these and a set of four larger cups). Neither of us likes those giant sized muffins everyone serves these days. We much prefer a smaller muffin and if we want a second one, we don’t have to feel guilty about over eating.

6week bran muffins2

The recipe doesn’t indicate how many muffins it makes but I would hazard a guess to say it will make close to 10 dozen medium sized bran muffins. Obviously, if you use larger muffin cups, you’ll get less. At any rate, it makes a LOT of muffins!

6week bran muffins

That’s a lot of batter!

Incidentally, I checked online to see if I could find a similar recipe and, though there are plenty of recipes for Six Week Bran Muffins, none of them are exactly like this one… that I could find, at any rate.

===========================================

Six Week Bran Muffins

[printable version]

Stir together:

  • 2 cups boiling water
  • 5 tsp. baking soda

Cool to room temperature

In a large bowl, cream together:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cups sugar (white or brown)

Add:

  • 4 eggs, one at a time
  • 1 quart buttermilk
  • 5 cups flour
  • 1 tbsp. salt
  • cooled water and baking soda

In another bowl, mix:

  • 2 cups bran
  • 4 cups All-Bran cereal
  • 2 cups raisins
  • 2 cups chopped walnuts (or pecans)

Add to first mixture. Pour into lined muffin tins. Bake at 400ºF for 20-25 minutes. Store batter, covered, in the refrigerator and bake as needed.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Herbed Corn Muffins Recipe | Nosh My Way

Leave a Reply

