Gruyere Palmiers

I love savoury things. If there’s a tray of cookies or candies and a tray of something salty, I’ll go for salty every time! You can imagine my happiness when I came across a recipe for Olive Oil and Sea Salt Palmiers.

If you’ve never had palmiers, allow me to explain what they are. Very basically, it’s puff pastry with something sprinkled or spread on it; then it’s rolled up from both ends, sliced and baked.

The first palmiers I’d ever had were sugar and cinnamon palmiers, and they were GOOD! I love them, but as I started out saying, I prefer savoury to sweet.

It turns out I still had a sheet of puff pastry in the freezer and when I saw the recipe for the Olive Oil and Sea Salt Palmiers, I started thinking. I took the pastry out of the freezer and left it in the fridge overnight to thaw. Then, last night, while watching a movie and enjoying a glass of wine, it hit me… Gruyere! I still had gruyere cheese in the fridge. Fleur de Sel…I have that! My mouth started to water.

I started by unrolling the sheet of puff pastry. If your puff pastry comes in a block, roll it out to about a 12” square.

Brush liberally with melted butter. Sprinkle with fleur de sel or any good sea salt and a good dose of freshly ground pepper. My pepper grinder has a blend of black, green and red peppercorns, a mix I enjoy more than just black pepper. Then, sprinkle with grated Gruyere. You could substitute Gouda cheese, or Cheddar, or any nice hard cheese if you wanted.

Now, roll up the sheet of pastry from one side to the middle. Repeat at the opposite side. It doesn’t need to be tightly rolled. The pastry expands when baked.

Wrap up the entire roll and refrigerate for about 30 minutes. If you want to make this ahead of time, no problem. I’d simply wrap the roll in plastic wrap and refrigerate until you’re ready to bake.

When it comes time to bake, take the roll out of the fridge, unwrap it and, using a sharp serrated knife, cut into 1/4” slices. Place each slice on a parchment-lined baking sheet, leaving about an inch between the slices.

I have an apartment sized stove, so I’ve had to invest in smaller baking sheets than I would normally use. I had to use two sheets; while the first was baking, the second stayed in the fridge.

Bake the palmiers at 400ºF for about 12 minutes, or until they’re golden. Remove them to a rack and cool. Then, all that’s left is to enjoy them. If you do need to store them, store them in an airtight container.

Trust me, though, they won’t last long!

Gruyere & Sea Salt Palmiers

[printable version]

  • 1 sheet puff pastry
  • 1 tbsp. melted butter
  • 1 cup grated Gruyere cheese
  • Fleur de Sel or any good sea salt
  • Ground pepper, as desired

Unroll the sheet of puff pastry, or if the pastry is a block, roll it out to approximately 12” square.

Brush with melted butter. Sprinkle the pastry with Fleur de Sel and ground pepper. Sprinkle with the Gruyere cheese.

Roll the pastry up from one edge to the center. Repeat for the opposite edge. Wrap and refrigerate for about 1/2 hour or until ready for baking.

When ready to bake, preheat oven to 400ºF. Take the pastry roll from the fridge, unwrap and, using a sharp serrated knife, cut into 1/4” slices; place slices on a parchment lined baking sheet about 1” apart.

Bake at 400ºF, in the center to top third of the oven, for about 12 minutes or until golden. Remove to a cooling rack and allow to cool.

Leave a Reply

