Flax Bread

Now that Christmas is over and we’ve had way too much good stuff to eat, it’s time to start thinking healthy again. I know that I have a serious affection for bread of just about any kind and an even more serious affection (addiction perhaps?) for butter, I decided that I would start there.

In years past, I would occasionally whip butter with olive oil, primarily in order to spin out a little longer. It’s a lot healthier that way, too, so I’ve decided to start doing that again. I think it’s usually equal parts of butter and olive oil, but I went with 1 cup butter and 2/3 cup olive oil. Once it’s all whipped together, I put it into a plastic tub and into the fridge. It definitely needs refrigeration, but it does stay easily spreadable.

As far as bread goes, I do like grainy breads almost as much as I like white bread and crackers so I went on the hunt for flax bread. I chose flax because it’s very good for you, with Omega-3’s and other good oils. I have a good 9-grain bread recipe, but didn’t have the cereal on hand. I found a flax bread recipe online and have used it as a starting point for the recipe that follows.

I wasn’t sure quite what to expect, but I have to tell you, this bread is good! It’s definitely one I’ll make again and again.

Flax Bread 2 Flax Bread

Flax Bread

[printable version]

  • 1 tbsp. active dry yeast
  • 1 3/4 cups of warm water
  • 2 tsp. sugar
  • 1 tbsp.olive oil
  • 1 tbsp. melted butter
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup flaxseed meal
  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup whole flaxseed
  • 1/4 – 1/2  cup sunflower seeds
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour

In a large bowl, dissolve your yeast in the warm water with sugar. Let sit for about 10 minutes. Add the oil, salt, flaxseed meal, flaxseed, sunflower seeds and one cup of whole wheat flour. Mix until it’s fully incorporated.

Add the second cup of whole wheat flour and stir until it is incorporated, then add the white flour.

Using a dough hook and a stand mixer, knead for 10 – 12 minutes. If you don’t have a stand mixer, then knead by hand on a floured countertop for about 10 – 15 minutes. If necessary, you can add up to another 1/2 cup flour to keep the mixture from being too sticky.

Place dough in a large greased bowl, turning to grease the top. Allow it to rise in a warm spot till fully doubled, 1-2 hours.

Grease a 9×5” bread pan.

When dough has risen, punch it down, then shape it into a loaf. Place it in the bread pan. Allow the bread to rise until it has up up about 1 1/2” above the top of the loaf pan.

Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Bake the bread for about 40 – 45 minutes. Once done, allow it to cool for about 5 minutes in the pan before removing onto a rack.

Allow the bread to cool completely before slicing.

Leave a Reply

