THE Best Peach Cobbler

Peaches are in season here in the Okanagan and I got a box of gorgeous peaches from a co-worker that I need to use up before they go bad. There is nothing worse than letting beautiful, ripe, sweet peaches go to waste. And so, to maximize the enjoyment, I set out on a search for the best peach cobbler… ever!

I tried one recipe that called for 1/2 cup of butter to be melted in the baking dish, a batter poured into the butter and the peaches dumped on top of the batter. Then it was baked. While it was tasty, it stuck like glue to the bottom of the baking dish and I had to soak it for two days before I could get the dish clean! Needless to say, that recipe wasn’t a keeper.

I found plenty of recipes that use oatmeal, but I consider those to be crisps, not cobblers. I was after a cobbler recipe and so, as good as they sounded, I wasn’t interested.

Then, on Tasty Kitchen, I found a promising recipe. The comments posted were all positive, with some interesting ideas for substitutions. I decided to try it. And, to make things a little more interesting, I added a handful of freshly frozen (picked from the garden) raspberries. Oh my! Even without the ice cream, this is one good recipe!

I made it a second time, just to be sure. It’s definitely a keeper!

You can find the original recipe at the Tasty Kitchen blog (here, to be precise). Here’s my version:

THE Best Peach Cobbler

[printable version]

Filling:

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp. almond flavouring
  • 4 cups fresh peaches, sliced
  • 1/2 cup fresh or frozen raspberries

Topping:

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup butter, cold
  • 1 whole egg, beaten

Preheat the oven to 375ºF. Generously butter an 11x7x2″ pan.

For the filling, in a bowl combine all the ingredients, stirring to coat. Pour into the pan.

For the topping, combine sugar, flour, baking powder and salt. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles fine crumbs; stir in the egg. Spread over the peaches and bake for 35-40 minutes, or until the filling is bubbly and the topping is golden.

Serve warm with good vanilla ice cream or whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

