Coddled Egg Breakfast Sandwich

I love eggs. I’ll eat them any way I can get them… fried, scrambled, soft-boiled, soufflé… I love eggs! A while back, I was looking for something a little different and came across a recipe for coddled eggs. Really, they’re a lot like poached eggs, but they’re cooked in a ramekin, which is place in simmering water. As much as I like poached eggs, I prefer coddled eggs as they retain their shape and they can be seasoned as desired, before cooking.

To turn my coddled egg into a breakfast (or any meal, really) sandwich, I took an English muffin, lightly toasted it, spread on a little mayonnaise, added a slice of bacon cut in half, the egg and then topped it with a slice of medium Gouda (which just happens to be one of my favourite cheeses… have I mentioned that I love cheese?).

Here’s how to make a coddled egg:

  • Eggs
  • Parmesan cheese, grated, approximately 1 tsp per egg
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Find a pan or large skillet, depending on the number of eggs you’ll be cooking. Place a double layer of paper towels (or a clean dish cloth) in the pan and add 1-2″ of water. Bring the water to a boil, then reduce to simmer.

In the meantime, generously butter the number of ramekins required (one per egg). Break the egg into the ramekin and season with salt and pepper. Lightly stir the eggs with a fork, just enough to break the yolk. Top each egg with about 1 tsp grated parmesan cheese. Place the ramekins into the pan of simmering water, trying not to let the ramekins touch. Cover and allow the eggs to cook to desired doneness (about 5 minutes). Turn off the heat and carefully remove the ramekins from the water.

That’s it. That’s all there is to it. The eggs can be seasoned with whatever you like to season them with.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

